Monday, December 21, 2009

PLANS FOR OFF-SEASON


With the off-season here I thought I should return after my disgust at the Mets previous season and discuss what I think should be done for next season. I'll go by position here.

Jon Garland - He pretty much has the same stuff as Pineiro and Marquis but consistently throws 200 innings and has an ok ERA every year. Who knows what Pineiro will give you and Marquis is bad and just signed with the Nats. Garland will also be cheaper than both. If you can't get Garland then go after Sheets or Pedro if they sign at a bargain.

Delgado - Only if he takes $6 Million or less. Murphy cannot be our starting first baseman. If no Delgado than Xavier Nady to play over Murph. They could platoon.

Bay - I hope they get him, if not, then Nady again.

Molina - We didn't really play with a catcher the past 2 years, why do we need one now. That's what our 8th spot is for. Get Olivo or Toby Hall.

Gonzalez - throw the farm at him, what's to lose. Then no need for Delgado or Nady, except if we don't get Bay.

Saturday, July 18, 2009

SAY IT AIN'T SO PEDRO

I was pained to see Pedro Martinez wearing his new Phillies hat during his press conference. I feel such anger just seeing the Phillies color in every day life. I have been saying every day how we should sign Pedro. Pitchers always have a hard season the year after surgery. That was Pedro last year and now I expect him to have learned to pitch with his new body and will be very good for the Phillies. Pedro is a great competitor and his influence on our team has been sorely missed this year. He is such a great competitor, teacher, and jokester that every team kills to have. Now with a mere $1 millions dollars the Phillies pick up a great player at a position that were being killed at! Didn't we save enough money to sign him when we traded Castro. BUT at this point why we he even have thought of boarding the Mets' sinking ship. We may have been better off at this point with with him. We may have tried to make some other moves to keep us in it. Beltran is such a effing wuss! You have an effing bruise!!! Get in the game you baby. You played with a broken face for crying out loud!!!

JEFF FRANC"SURE"

I was upset to hear Church was traded. I think he got a bad rap by the Mets and more specifically Jerry Manuel. When Church was injured all the rumors swirled that he would not play very long with the Mets. Manuel had him play part time yet played FMart over him when Church was one of our best players. I kept hearing how Church fell out of favor with Manuel even before he missed 3rd base. Manuel and Church deny this, however. Church is a good player but is very injury prone. He has only played over 100 games once and he has been the league a while. Now at 30 he has shown himself to be a decent major league hitter, a very good fielder, and a guy who busts his ass and puts his body on the line for his team.

Franceour now comes in (I will have to learn how to spell his name) 5 years younger than Church, has in the past shown he can be a good hitter, and is a great fielder. He has been having problems the past couple of years at the plate but at 25 he is still growing as a major leaguer. It's important to note that with his struggles lately, he plays at least 150 games each year. With out rash of injuries it's important to have guys in the line-up every day. So this will probably turn out to be an excellent trade for the Mets. They get a younger, less injury prone, better fielding outfielder. Joe Negative approves of this deal even though it saddens me to see Church go.

Sunday, July 5, 2009

LETS WIN 1 TODAY

We lost to Jamie Moyer!!! Come on! I thought that was our best chance of stealing a win. All they did was ground out. Wrong looked terrible yesterday. At the plate he couldn't hit anything. And that foul ball he dropped! I EFFING HATE TIM MCCARVER! He was totally destroying the Mets yesterday. He was calling them a minor league team, saying they were a joke. AND STOP ATTACKING FMART for his misplay the other day. The grass came out from him!! That wasn't his fault!

Today I would like to see Cora, Murphy, Wright, Church, Sheff, Reed, Castillo, Schneider. Castillo needs to be moved up! I have been saying it all year. He has a much higher average than Schneider. Castillo is a .290 career hitter compared to Schneider's .240 career average. Castillo is also batting 30 points higher this year. I know Schneider is getting RBI's but we are being taken advantage of much more by batting all are lefties back to back. Castillo would also get on base more to score runs, he would defend against the lefty pitcher, and if he steals they would walk Schneider and clear the pitcher. I also heard on the pre-game that Castillo has killed Blanton in the past. In fact he is batting .500 against him but he is batting 8th today!!! Smart decisions Manuel.

Saturday, July 4, 2009

Is that Ryan Howard???


OK, so we lost to Rodrigo Lopez yesterday. We never do well against pitchers we have never seen before even when we have a full line-up. We are now 2 games out of first. If you expect the Mets will be in 1st place after this series then you are on drugs! There really is a very slim chance we will beat the Phillies 2 out of 3. We just need to hang around long enough til we get our guys back and then take over. I heard Beltran will be out until the All-Star game. That stinks but maybe Reyes will be back then too. I actually think it would be better for the Mets to not tie the Phillies this weekend. It will put the fight in them more to beat everyone else. The Mets are so bad right now with all these injuries that we are lucky to beat anyone.

Jamie Moyer is pitching today. I would love to see Manuel put out an all righty line-up today because right handed batters are hitting over .300 against him. This should be the line-up. Castillo, Cora, Wright, Sheff RF, Tatis 1B, Church CF, Evans LF, Santos. The other day Manuel had Tatis in right and Evans at 1B. Then late in the game for defense he put Tatis at 1B and Evans in LF??? Hernandez then stated Evans is a better OF than 1B. Which Gary replied then why didn't Manuel do that for the entire game? Another Manuel blunder.

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Let's Have Some Brews

Evidently Manuel is having some brews when filling out our batting order. You need a balanced line-up to prevent the opposing team take advantage of you with specialists. The Yanks took advantage of it Sunday and then the Brewers killed one of best rallies we had last night due to the same thing. YOU CANNOT BAT 3 LEFT HANDED HITTERS IN A ROW. In the 7th we had 2 runners on with 3 straight lefties coming up in Church, FMart, and Schneider. Oh look at what the Brewers have, Mark Stetter, a side-armed lefty with opposing lefties have a .111 batting average against. .111!!!!!! Church fought valiantly but could not win. If we had a righty after Church they may have thought twice about it. 2 nights in a row!!! I want to see Cora, Murph, Wright, Church, Sheff/Tatis, FMart, Castillo, Santos/Schneid. Castillo is batting over .300 against lefties so it doesn't hurt if they bring in a lefty. I having nothing to be positive about with the offense, pitching and defense being so poor. But for our own manager to let other teams take advantage of us more may knock me out. If Manuel would just be consistent with the line-up instead of switching every night, the bats will get hot.

Monday, June 29, 2009

Running With Left Handed Scissors


Does Manuel understand that when you make your lineup that you should switch left handed batters with right handed batters in the order? Last night Manuel had Martnez and Schneider back to back in the lineup and the Yankees took advantage by putting Coke in for 5 straight lefty hitters. 1 was Castillo who batted righty but the guys after him were lefties too. Then Hughes came in to focus on 3 straight righty hitters. Tonight he goes even further to bat Church, FMart, and Schneider in a row! So how do you break them up? Church should be 4th, Sheff 5th, FMart 6th, Castillo 7th, and Scneider 8th. Castillo being a switch hitter and a much better right handed hitter would welcome a lefty in. Also Castillo is batting 50 POINTS HIGHER! Schneider is hitting .230 and Castillo is hitting .280! Get some actual brains Manuel!

David Wrong

Well, we went to the Mets Yankees game last night. Boy that offense is inept! David Wright did not show up last night. In his place was David Wrong. He's the David Wright that looks like he can't hit anything and forget clutch. The problem is that with everyone else being so terrible that when Wrong is on the field everyone takes notice. And of course in this game the Mets were a little embarassing early on. Please don't do those things against the Yankees, Phillies, Red Sox, or Braves. Murphy was shaky at first last night but so has Evans. This may force the Mets to make a move for another first basemen but when Beltran comes back Tatis will be able to play first some more. I really think Sheff should play more at first so he can be in the line-up more. Back to Murphy, what the hell is wrong with Manuel shifting guys around the order all the time. Murphy has shown the most success in the 2nd spot with his most AB and his highest AVG. He of course should never lead off when you have Cora doing an excellent job there along with an ability to steal bases and that you have Castillo. Sometimes I wonder is Manuel has ever managed and I have no idea how he was manager of the year. I agree with him that we need another bat in the line-up but I do not think it's outside who we already have. Beltran is another bat. Reyes, Castillo, Beltran, Sheff, Wright, Church, Tatis, Schneider is a good line-up.

Sunday, June 28, 2009

Manuel Shoots Himself Again


WOW we lost again to the Yankees. Really, what can you expect? With all these injuries we are a skeleton of our former selves. Really we cannot hope to make the playoffs this year. Maybe this will make them play harder because we are basically the Pirates right now and they gotta play their asses off to win. I am a little surprised that Manuel loaded up on left handed hitters yesterday. An amateur like me just had to look up Burnett on CBS Sportsline to see Burnett is being killed by righties!!! Opposing lefties are batting .207 against AJ and he has a 3.13 ERA. Really good numbers right??? Righties are batting .275 and he has a whopping 5.03 ERA!!! And this is not a fluke by the way. Hitorically Burnett is better versus lefties!!! So I would have just expected Church to be in there but...Here's Reed, Murphy, and Schneider!!! That really exasperates me. Also going against Manuel's own thinking he will play the guys who continue to hit. So where was Evans last night? Even Tatis was 1 of 3 hitters along with Evans and Sheff the night before. This guy doesn't even listen to himself!!!

Chien Ming Wang is pitching tonight. He is being destroyed by lefties this year!!! So I'm sure we'll see Evans, Tatis, and Santos in there tonight. Sheff will get the day off today too because we are playing a weak opponent. Why not sit Wright tonight too! Manuel is going to ruin my first trip to Citi Field tonight.

Saturday, June 27, 2009

EmbarassMETS

That first inning was an embarassment! Nick Evans is not elevating our offense enough that he should be starting at first base. It's not like we have a great cast around him that he can complement. He is counted on to produce. Against a lefty he was a good choice but why not put Sheff at first so he doesn't have to run down fly balls. I personally think that Daniel Murphy should play 1B against all righties with some exceptions. Like tonight Burnett is getting killed by righties and the same lineup as last night should be fine just don't embarass us again tonight!

Friday, June 26, 2009

YankMEs

I expect this series to look more like the 3rd game of the last series we played against the Yankees. Somehow the Mets played close in the first 2 games of that series with all the injuries we had. Now we are also without Beltran. We are dead! I think we will win 1 of these 3. Hopefully I will see a win in game 3 because I along with fellow Mets Crisis blogger G-Force and The Mouth from Ranger Crisis am going to that game. We will be at the back of section 130 greeting our fans. I like the first line-up Manuel has put out there. Forget Defense, we need some freakin hits. Church is in CF tonight with Sheff and Tatis in the corners. So I see a blow out tonight unless the Mets can hit Sabathia the way the Yanks hit Santana.

Monday, June 22, 2009

I think I hear the fat lady singing!


Can you hear it also? Beltran is about to go on the DL & this lineup is pathetic! We are about to face the Cardinals with a red hot Albert Pujols! The starting lineup for Mondays game has a total of 16 home runs. That is 10 less than Pujols has himself. Who's next to get injured, David Wright? The next ten days might decide if the mets can keep pace with the Phillys (that can't win either) or the Marlins pass us by. Also, Fernando Martinez is back tonight (some of u wont like that). If the fat lady is not singing tonight, she may be soon. she'll be at the hot dog stand warming up!

Sunday, June 21, 2009

MURPH CHURCH and the SCHNEID!

The Mets have no killer instinct!!!!!!!!! They will get a small lead and try to hold on for dear life! You score 1 run for Santana! He gets another loss! You win the first game of series and then take off for the rest of it! We split the 1st 2 against the Rays and then you give away the lead twice in game 3! Our left handed hitters are playing well for us. I have been saying Murph should bat 2nd, that's his most successful spot. Church has regained his spot on this team even with the threat of FMart. FMart was sent down after dropping below the Mendoza line. He was not impressive, so much so that he was replaced by Nick Evans. The Scneid has gotten some big homers for us. He and Santos have been great. Alex Cora is also playing very well filling in for Reyes! I can't believe this game is slipping away!!!!!

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Tickle Me Melmo!


Seeing Melvin Mora reminds of that absolutely awful trade we made for Mike Bordick!!! Mora never did get a good chance while on the Mets thanks to Bobby V. He had great springs to blow away the guys that were actually chosen to start like Benny Agbayani and Jay Payton. Rey Ordonez "The Wizard of Ahs" got injured and they wanted a regular short stop so they got Bordick. I remember this trading being horrible then but looking at it now it doesn't seem as horrible until you see Mora's stats in Baltimore. Look at 2004, .340 27 Homers 103 RBI!!! We went through a string of shitty 3B after Ventura until Wright came around. Mora would have fit in quite well.

Baltimore snOrioles

Ok, I'm back after a few days. I had to recover from that 15-0 game. We split the first 2 against the snOrioles. Huff's homer was a fluke. He sucks against lefties. He gives and he takes away on both nights. He lost one with his D Tuesday and wins one with the bat last night. It's just like my APBA team! I like the lineup tonight with Murph 2nd, FMart 8th, and Sheff 5th. This could be the last regular start for FMart tonight since we won't have a DH for a while. We need to win tonight because we are playing even tougher teams after this. Let's see some fire tonight!

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Jerry "I Need a Baseball" Manuel

OK, Castillo dropped the ball the other night. I was watching the game at a bar called Tonic in Times Square with The Mouth. The Yankee fans didn't make a sound all night with Joba pitching badly and Rivera giving up the go ahead run. As soon as they won they just couldn't shut up! Castillo is a good player and will continuw to be our every day second baseman. You will never see Castillo do that again. I did immediately think of Bukner when it happened. I really liked the lineup Manuel put out their last night. Castillo leading off, Sheffield and Tatis 5th and 6th, and I loved Martinez 9th! I think he should be 9th all the time when we have the DH. Beltran just lined out to Jeter with the bases loaded. I do not feel very confident today. I don't like FMart 2nd, I really want Murphy there, and I would like Sheff and Church switched.

Friday, June 12, 2009

CASTILLO GIVEN THE SHAFT

How the hell does Castillo lead off for you the past week and last night get 3 freakin hits and then YOU BAT HIM 9TH??? Again an absolutely stupid move by Manuel. Cora needs to be batting 9th since all he seems to be good for is bunting anyway! Castillo has 5 hits in the last two games!!! As I have said numerous times in the past Castillo is an experienced lead off hitter. FMART is batting 2nd tonight and Murphy is batting 6th. Murphy is batting .370 in the 2nd spot. Stop giving FMART better opportunities than other players. I have no problem with FMART playing tonight but I think Murphy is getting the shaft. Castillo especially is getting is really getting shafted by Manuel. What the hell is Manuel on to change the lineup every night!!!!

Thursday, June 11, 2009

WRIGHT LEADING OFF?

I am sick and tired of David Wright leading off innings!!! And the reverse I'm sick of Sheffield ending them. David Wright is leading the league in hitting! He needs to bat 4th and get more important at bats. DO NOT bat him 3rd however, that pressure is too mush for him. That being said, I like how they played the Phillies! That's right, a positive comment. They fought hard and it was always close while we are hurting. We are a different team with Reyes and Delgado. I think we can take these guys!

Going into the Yankees series this is the lineup I want to see...Castillo, Murphy, Beltran, Wright, Sheffield, Tatis, Church, Santos, Cora. Sheffield is built for our DH. Tatis and Murphy give us better defense. FMart can replace Tatis late in the game. If he plays left field and bats 8th behind Santos I won't complain. We want Tatis to play against Pettitte.

I WANT HIM DEAD!

The Mets showed some fire last night with the Big Pelf yelling at Utley and the take out slides at second. Did you see that cheap slide by one of the Phillies going after Cora after Cora slid hard into second himself? That guy needs to be beaned tonight!!! We have to beat on Moyer tonight! Tatis has killed Moyer in his career. I think that Tatis should be in right field tonight and Murphy should be at first. Fernando Martinez should not be in this series at all. It is way to important for us for any rookie mistakes. Murphy will not get out of his funk unless he plays and he hits lefties pretty good. No mistakes tonight damnit! Also Wright needs to be batting 4th and Sheff 5th.

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

PELFREY PUMMELED

The last time Pelfrey was pummeled when he pitched against the Pirates. "OOOO you're an angry Pelf! Does Santa know you escaped?" Now he is facing a line up of major league hitters. Hamels shut out the Dodgers last time out. These two are going in two opposite directions! The Phillies are going to unload on Big Pelf. I think Castillo, Cora, and Church will be overmatched. Jimmy Rollins needs to be sent a message tonight for his take out slide of Cora last night. All hard slides in there. Show some fire tonight!!! I don't care if we win tonight just show the Phillies we won't lay down!

Best Game of the Year!

Who was that team on the field last night? The Mets played with energy & enthusiasm for the first time in ages! Although Santana did not have his best stuff, his desire to win rubs off on the team. They even came from behind after losing a 3-0 lead & a terrible call by the plate umpire! One thing that did bother me is how Jerry Manuel refuses to come out of the dugout to argue any calls! Granted the umpire is not going to change his call (even though he blew it), but this lack of emotion & fight is the personality we are trying to rid ourselves of! I commend the Mets on a great effort & look foward to the next 2 games against the Phillys! Lets Go Mets!

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

PHILLY SWEEPS METS

I am not feeling too confident going into this series after being in attendance at Nationals Park for the 7 - 1 loss on Saturday. Before I knew it they were down 4-0 and Brown and Castillo ran past each other into a double play. That being said, the Phillies are masters at taking it to us when we are vulnerable. The Phils are starting 3 lefties in the series and we have too many lefty batters. I do like the line up tonight with Castillo leading off, Sheff in left, Tatis at 1st, and mainly Ryan Church in right. I do think the Mets have a good chance to beat Moyer Thursday.

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

F Mart Experiment is Over!

Fernando Martinez has got to ride the pine! Now is not the time to be experimenting with minor leaguers. This guy is batting .174 with his regular at bats while players that are important for this year get sporadic play. I don't give a crap that he is our best prospect this guy gets a chance in the majors and doesn't run out hits. NOT IMPRESSIVE. You know who busts his ass? Daniel Murphy, Fernando Tatis, Jeremy Reed. Murphy is our young rookie who needs to be in the majors. Martinez hasn't done anything to earn a spot in this line-up. If the guy was producing then he would be deserving a spot but he's not. Murphy needs to bat 2nd every game especially with Delgado out because he won't be playing the outfield when he comes back. Tatis should play every day in right with Church out and platoon when Church comes back. See you later F Mart when we extend the rosters!

Sunday, May 31, 2009

The Great Marlins

Ok, so we have the rubber game today...and lukily Manuel is off the drugs and decided not to sit 3 of our regulars. Yes! Castillo, Wright, and Sheffield are back in the line-up after all being sat the day before! With your regular 1B, SS, C, and RF out, you can not afford to also sit the 2B, 3B, and LF! And we lost, no surprise. Jagass! Hopefully today we are trying to win.

Worst Lineup Ever!

Anyone who thought we had a chance of winning with that (B) lineup yesterday against Florida's ace must be smoking something! Ramon Martinez batting 6th? Jerry Manuel has stated he does not like sitting starters for home games, but if I had tickets for that snore fest, I would want a refund!

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

JOHAN

Santana is on the mound tonight! That means there won't be many hits on either side. FMart was not impressive last night, as I expected. I'm not rooting against the kid I just don't think he's a good player. At least he didn't get a standing ovation like Milledge got when he first came up. Absolutely ridiculous! I would expect Martinez to get a hit today though. As for the line-up, which I always have to comment on, pick a spot for Murphy! Bat the guy second and leave him there! He is not a middle of the pack guy. Castillo needs to lead off and let's see Reed out there instead of Pagan. We will win 3-2

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

WHAT

I can't figure Manuel out! You are playing a righty and you sit Reed and Murphy, 2 of your best left handed hitters. Gary and Ron just mentioned how Murphy gets less playing time when they have injuries.

ALL HANDS ON DECK - F-MART HAS ARRIVED

Ok, Fernando Martinez has finally been called up and unfortunately it's with the Mets. They should have traded this guy already. Now that he's up everyone will know he is all hype and he will lose all trade value. This guy has never tore up the minors and doesn't show much power or speed. In the past 10 days he has been hot, batting .341, but he is only hitting .290 in the MINORS. I do not think he should starting for the Mets at all. Fernando Tatis, more then ever without Beltran, needs to be in this line-up. I was saying it couldn't get any worse and then 3 more guys are out! This is bad but maybe this back-ups can do some damage. I think Reed and Tatis need to get the extra playing time because when it comes down to it, Martinez and Santos won't be on this team when it really counts. You need to reward you regular back-ups before passing them over with minor leaguers! That's one thing I liked about Randolph, you had to earn your place on the team and earn your position in the line-up. F Mart better be batting 7th or 8th tonight! Castillo, Murph, Sheff, Wright, Reed, Tatis, Santos Ramon Martinez or if F Mart must start - Reed, R Mart, F Mart, Santos.

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Memorial Day Nats

We are facing the Nats #1 pitcher in John Lannan. I know what you are saying, he's the Nats #1 pitcher, big deal. It's usually tough for hitters the day after you play knuckle ballers. We need to bury the Nationals especially now with all these injuries. It's a good time to play them. Since Lannan is a lefty, it's time for our platoons to kick in. It's a great day to give Murphy off since he is struggling as of late. Reyes could be in tomorrow. With that in mind I think the team we should put out there is this. Reyes, Castillo, Beltran, Sheff (I have to get me one of those Chef hats. In the future I can use it as the Swedish Chef from the muppets.) Wright, Tatis 1B, Santos, Pagan. Church is getting an MRI so he won't be available. Now that we finally lost with that idiotic line-up Manuel will go back to normal one.

METS GO HOME!

That was the chant of Red Sox fans as the Red Sox finally realized the Mets were playing their B team and beat on us. Did you see how pissed they were last night? How could they be beaten by a bunch of losers such as Omir Santos? I still believe Manuel gave up last night when letting Santos bat. Even the announcers talked about how unlikely it was for Santos to hit a homer or get a hit for that matter.

Today I do not think Redding should have been pulled with 2 outs in the 4th. I think that just brought some bad karma with it. Give the guy a chance to get the win! I'm not sure if anything would have changed but if you want Redding to be in your rotation you need to show some confidence in him. These injuries are really getting annoying now. I thought Wright got hurt going for that foul ball.

Saturday, May 23, 2009

Stupid Is and Stupid Does

OMIR SANTOS??? Manuel is just winning on stupid luck! No freakin way should Santos be batting in that situation! Manuel is giving up the game and he got lucky. Tatis must be batting in that spot! Making stupid moves and winning is going to make him continue coaching stupid. K-ROD better be hurt to not be in that game. If I find out he was available I will drive up to Boston and stangle Manuel in his sleep! Don't play with our emotions that way. We are used to it as Mets fans but GEEZ!

SOX PART 2

OK, I will back off a little on Manuel last night for Beltran not playing in the field because his knee is bothering him but that is it. I don't care if they won! That is not what determines good coaching. The fact that they won brings on Manuel not putting our best team out there again! Daniel Murphy is not a lead off hitter and should not be a lead off hitter for the Mets ever! Castillo is an experienced lead off hitter and should take it as an insult to be batting 9th. Pagan needs to be batting 9th. The inexperienced players should not be put in key positions in the line-up. Again I will point out that Tatis is not playing. I read nothing saying he was hurt and his absence in the line-up for Angel Pagan is a problem. Playing inexperienced players againts the Red Sox is just asking for a loss. Tatis must be in the line-up! 2 nights in a row he doesn't start and Manuel has been whining about getting him into the line-up all year! What confidence can I have in my team winning when the best players are not out there??? Red Sox fans must be losing their minds from the fact that the crappy version of our team beat them last night. I would be too if the Red Sox put out their B team.

Friday, May 22, 2009

HOLY JESUS!

Is Manuel trying to get fired??? Daniel Murphy is leading off! Castillo is batting 9th! And Beltran is the DH with Sheffield in the Outfield! Why is Tatis not playing? Manuel is always trying to get Tatis into the lineup but when we have the DH option he plays Reed.

Here is my prediction for the series...Red Sox will sweep. We are reeling from the losses of Reyes and Delgado that Manuel is totally vexed. He is so afraid of the Red Sox Juggernaut that he decided that we are going to lose anyway so let's just be silly. National League fans fantasize about their lineup with the DH and even with key players out we still should have a better line-up. Here would be mine... Castillo, Murphy, Beltran in CF, Sheffield DH, Wright, Church, Tatis, Santos, Martinez. That's your best line-up against one of the best teams in baseball, which until now I thought we were also...

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Church Hating is Met Blasphemy

I heard Daniel Murphy is playing first base tonight. Finally after horrendous misplays by both he and Reed, Manuel decides to play his infielders in the infield and his outfielders out. Maybe he'd like to put Castillo in center and Beltran at second to offset this obvious move.

For all you Ryan Church haters, knock it off! This guy carried us in the beginning of last year. He batted .313 in April and is an excellent fielder. He's now hitting .275 and the guy puts his body on the line for this team. No freakin way should he be sat against righties in place of terrible outfielders. He also should not bat 8th against righties for guys like Santos to bat in front of him. Rookies like Santos and, even though I like him, Daniel Murphy. Rookies need to earn their spots in the batting order before being put in places that veterans like Church or Castillo have proven they can produce in. Have you noticed where Cano has batted since he was a rookie?

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

What is On First ?


YEAH BOY! Why the hell is Jeremy Reed playing first base??? He has never played the infield but is considered an excellent outfielder. Hey, you know which players are infielders......hmmmm Fernando Tatis and Daniel Murphy! Even Sheffield came up as an infielder. You know what else those three have in common??? They are crappy outfielders!!! The Mets always have the philosophy that anyone can play the outfield and they have been burned on it, time and time again. Remember Todd Hundley? I remember The Great Marlon Anderson playing the outfield too many times. But when we have too many infielders we play the outfielder at first. Makes lots of sense.